Aotearoa New Zealand SDG Summit Series

The 4th Aotearoa SDG Summit Conference was held 9-10 February this year in the Waikato. Co-hosted by the University of Waikato, Waikato Wellbeing project, Te Pukenga and Waikato Tainui. A wide range of speaker from the Waikato and across Aotearoa spoke to the summit’s theme of indigenous perspectives on sustainable development.

Keynote speakers included Waikato Regional Council Char Pamela Story, WWP Co-Chair Mike Rolton, Hamilton Mayor Paula Southgate, Koi Tu Director and President of the International Science Council Sir Peter Gluckman, Missy te Kawana (lead Prosperity Māori Business at KPMG), Rachael Karalus, CEO of K’aute Pasifika, Hinerangi Raumati-Tu’ua, Chair of Tainui Group Holdings, and Ganesh Nana, Chair of the New Zealand productivity Commission.

Another 24 outstanding speakers explored the summit series’ themes of (a) reimagining economic prosperity, he tangata and creating liveable places. On day two, field trips were held to Raglan |Whaingaroa and the Ruakura Superhub.

The Waikato Wellbeing Project was delighted to be a key sponsor and co-host for the summit. We were particularly pleased that so many of the project’s leaders and manu taki played a significant role in the event. As well we Mike’s opening remarks, Kaitiaki Board member Justin Connolly, manu taki Bruce Clarkson presented at the summit and Rick Thorp hosted the field trip to Raglan and coordinated an amazing range of community leaders to come and share their experiences with us.

Overall the summit series and the conference were a huge success and showcased many of the region’s SDG’s leaders and communities with the rest of Aotearoa. A big thanks to the co-sponsors University of Waikato, Te Pukenga, Waikato Tainui, WEL Energy Trust, Waste Management and Mercury for helping to bring the event to the Waikato.

You can read more about the summit here: Sustainable Development Goals Summit 2023 (